A Long Time Coming. . .

It’s not that I have stopped taking photos (Heaven forbid!), it’s just that my blogs have suffered my neglect for such a long time due to a number of factors, not the least of which is almost constant writing and editing.  I am preparing for NaNoWriMo.  I fully expect to actually finish it this year.  I have outlined the novel I have just started on – working title “Maddie and Bert and the Insurance Man.” It is a humor/mystery that I hope you will all enjoy.  I’m having fun with the development of it.  I am also getting into the final stages of editing and preparing my book of poetry.  I will be e-publishing as well as doing print-on-demand.  I had originally hoped to have it available by Christmas, but formatting it properly takes  bit longer than I had anticipated, but I am nevertheless confident that it will be available sooner rather than later.  “Sooner” being  a highly relative term.

My lack of easy mobility has kept my outdoor photo expeditions to a minimum, but one cloudy/rainy/sunny day in October, Ashley took me for a ride on the Blue Ridge Parkway, and I managed to get some spectacular shots of the variety of views that presented themselves on the changeable weather day of October 12.  Out of the hundreds of photos I took that day, I culled out 158 to display.  I won’t put them all here, but I will put up additional ones on the “Mountainscapes” page.  I hope you enjoy them.

The sun came in and out highlighting the colors in patches on the mountains,

The sun came in and out highlighting the colors in patches on the mountains,

IMG_7212

"Will o' the wisps" of clouds helped the views live up to their name, "The Smoky Mountains."

“Will o’ the wisps” of clouds helped the views live up to their name, “The Smoky Mountains.”

IMG_7204

IMG_7202

Some spectacular color!

Some spectacular color!

IMG_7195

Rock facing that was sliced to make way for the parkway.

Rock facing that was sliced to make way for the parkway.

Anyone know what kind of bug this is?  How many can you see here?

Anyone know what kind of bug this is? How many can you see here?

There were two!  The larger giving a piggy-back ride to the other smaller one.  Curious.  It did not appear to be a mating ritual. They really are blue and black.  Actually quite beautiful, as bugs go!

There were two! The larger giving a piggy-back ride to the other smaller one. Curious. It did not appear to be a mating ritual. They really are blue and black. Actually quite beautiful, as bugs go!

The rain was coming in again, the higher up we drove.

The rain was coming in again, the higher up we drove.

Hardly a trace of clouds here.

Hardly a trace of clouds here.

Over a mile in elevation here, in the clouds.

Over a mile in elevation here, in the clouds.

Shrouded in rain and clouds, but still beautiful.

Shrouded in rain and clouds, but still beautiful.

A little sunlight picked out the distant range.

A little sunlight picked out the distant range.

A strange growth of moss or lichen covered these trees.  Does anyone know the variety of growth it is?

A strange growth of moss or lichen covered these trees. Does anyone know the variety of growth it is?

A closer look.

A closer look.

More spectacular views.

More spectacular views.

IMG_7233

IMG_7229

A streak of sunlight.

A streak of sunlight.

One last peek.  Happy autumn to all!

One last peek. Happy autumn to all!

It has been a lovely season here in the Smokies.  Hope you have enjoyed the beauty of the season where you live as well.  Have you captured any light lately?