I Sing Because I’m Happy. . .

I sing because I’m free! For God’s eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me. When we finally got food in our bird feeder, the birds have come, but especially the sparrows. I don’t know why I love them so much.  Maybe it is their pleasing, sweet chirping song, or perhaps it’s because they are not brightly colored, but covered with lovely brown stripes and spots intermixed with white.  They are also very obliging to the photographer  They stay and wait for the camera to click before they move, and then they will jump to some other visible spot for me to photograph them.  And maybe, like in the old hymn, they know that God is watching over them.  Here are some photos I took this morning from my bedroom window. Many of the photos will look like doubles.  I wanted to show you how long they would look right at me and pose for the camera! IMG_6889   IMG_6882   IMG_6884   IMG_6885   IMG_6887   IMG_6889   IMG_6877   IMG_6874   IMG_6871   IMG_6870   IMG_6866   IMG_6858   IMG_6851   IMG_6850   IMG_6849   IMG_6848   IMG_6845   IMG_6844   IMG_6843   IMG_6842   IMG_6841   IMG_6840   IMG_6838   IMG_6837     IMG_6833   The words in the title and first paragraph are from the hymn by Civilla Martin, music by Charles Gabriel, written in 1905.  In their entirety they are

Why should I feel discouraged, why should the shadows come, Why should my heart be lonely, and long for heaven and home, When Jesus is my portion? My constant friend is He: His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

Refrain

I sing because I’m happy, I sing because I’m free, For His eye is on the sparrow, And I know He watches me.

“Let not your heart be troubled,” His tender word I hear, And resting on His goodness, I lose my doubts and fears; Though by the path He leadeth, but one step I may see; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

Refrain

Whenever I am tempted, whenever clouds arise, When songs give place to sighing, when hope within me dies, I draw the closer to Him, from care He sets me free; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me; His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

Refrain

 


I hope the sparrow chirps awaken you each morning, as they do for me.  It’s a great song to wake up to!  
Have you captured any light lately?