The Blessing of Being Stuck in Traffic

Yesterday, Ashley and I were returning home after a doctor’s appointment and a light supper.  When we got on I-40 at Exit 24, we noticed that the semi trucks were sort of backed up, but traffic was moving in the left lane fairly well.  The exit we use to get off and head to our house is Exit 20, only 4 miles west.  We got on the Interstate at about 7:05 p.m.  We did not arrive at home until 8:15 p.m.  There had been a chemical spill/accident further west on I-40, and all west-bound traffic was diverted off the highway at our Exit 20.  Whew!  Fortunately, we had a full gas tank, and it was a gorgeous, temperate evening.  The sun had just begun to set.

The real blessing of all this is that God had reminded me to bring my camera along with me that day in the car.  The section of the highway we were on is surrounded by the Smokies, and the cloud formations and the sunset’s light through the clouds and spilling into the valley was a spectacular sight!  It made what could have been a real headache into a blessing that I hope you, too, will also enjoy!  Here are some of the photos I took from my seat in the car.

 

IMG_5891

 

IMG_5890

 

IMG_5884

 

IMG_5882

 

IMG_5880

 

IMG_5878

 

IMG_5874

 

IMG_5862

 

IMG_5861

 

IMG_5860

 

IMG_5859

 

IMG_5858

 

IMG_5852

 

Have you captured any light lately?