The Weekend Five

Here are five photos selected from the many I took this weekend, here at home and at Lake Junaluska.  It was an absolutely gorgeous day both Saturday and Sunday, and a pleasure to take photos of the ever-emerging spring.  The dogwood trees, a beautiful symbol of Easter (already upon us this coming Sunday!), are blooming at last, and I expect to catch many more photos of their light in the next few days if it doesn’t get too rainy – perhaps even if it does!

In addition, I include a portrait I took of one of my dearest friends, Laurie Ellen Rabut. She visited me briefly this weekend, ushering in some special joy for me by her coming. We have been as close as sisters since September of 1963, so we are coming on completing the first 51 years of our friendship later this year.  I have not seen her in more years than I can count – decades – (she lives in Massachusetts and Vermont), but she has not changed one whit in my eye. Still as beautiful, gentle, and deeply loving as ever.  Without further word, here are my weekend five:

 

 

The beautiful white cross of Lake Junaluska is just visible through the trees across the lake.

The beautiful white cross of Lake Junaluska is just visible through the trees across the lake.

 

Newly-opened dogwood blossoms shine against the clear blue sky at lake Junaluska.

Newly-opened dogwood blossoms shine against the clear blue sky at lake Junaluska.

 

This gorgeous sculpture of a swan, opening his wing, suddenly appeared at the lake.  There is not yet a marker indicating the artist or the donor.

This gorgeous sculpture of a swan, opening his wings, suddenly appeared at the lake. There is not yet a marker indicating the artist or the donor.

The Bumble Bee is bumbling amid the wild flowers by the ramp to our front porch.

The Bumble Bee is bumbling amid the wild flowers by the ramp to our front porch.

My dear friend, Laurie Ellen Rabut

My dear friend, Laurie Ellen Rabut

 

Have you captured any light lately?