Something tells me it’s all happening at the zoo

I made my first visit to The Knoxville (TN) Zoo last August.  Even though we lived in Knoxville for seven years, and near there for several more, I had never had the opportunity to go.  Now that we live in NC, I had a chance to visit.  It was great timing, actually, because if I had gone before then I would not have had my camera!  This was my first vienture in using all manual settings.  The Knoxville Zoo is a very nice zoo, and with lots of great exhibits, using environments that are close to what the animal would have in the wild.  However, when we were there, there were many exhibits under construction/reconstruction.  Consequently, a number of the animal areas were behind wire fences, which makes them difficult to photograph at times.  Well, I did the best I could.  I hope you enjoy these.

Obliging meerkat “It has been a long day. . .”

“Back to posing.”

It was a hot August day. This elephant stayed in the water and splashed around for quite a while.

Stand-off between mother and child

Mom wins. . .

For more Knoxville Zoo photos, see my “Nature – Fauna” Page